LibGuides: A&P Subject Guide: Find Articles

A&P Databses

Nursing students are encouraged to limit their searches to Nursing-specific databases. A general rule of thumb is to be sure that information is current and taken from Nursing Journals. For help finding Nursing-specific journal titles, see your library staff. Stay tuned for video & more guides.

Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals, videos, dissertations, e-books, and study paths.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
An Ebsco resource for nursing and allied health professionals. Full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Proquest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of 10 databases that covers biomedical sciences, public health, consumer health, nursing and allied health journals & magazines, and more.
Proquest Psychology This link opens in a new window
Featuring full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, & more.

Pubmed
PubMed is a free database that indexes journal articles in the life sciences, concentrating on biomedical information. PubMed is created and is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, and contains all of the citations in Medline, plus additional citations and services. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Request articles that are not full text from the library.
Credo Reference: Nursing
Credo Reference Nursing is a research starting point providing articles, images, charts, and other materials. Choose from an alphabetized list of topics or use the quick find box to search for terms.

Search By Publication Title

Publication Finder This link opens in a new window
This resource lists all periodicals, such as journals, magazines, and newspapers, to which the library subscribes/owns. Search by a title, such as The New York Times or the American Journal of Nursing. Results will provide access to the online full text or list our issues available in print at the library. Formerly known as A-Z Journals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches the free web for scholarly resources. This is not reccommeneded if you are new to interacting with scholarly resources! Contact us for help navigating Google Scholar if that is the case.

Never pay for any materials found by way of Google Scholar. Search our databases for the article first. If you cannot find the article in our databases, simply copy & paste the title, author, year published, etc into our Contact Form. We can request these articles from another library if we do not have them.

Google Scholar

General Databases

General Databases search across multiple disciplines at once. They are a great place to start.

Ebsco One Search This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that provides online access to scholarly and news articles, eBooks, reference books and WMCC Library print books.

Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Proquest's multi-disciplinary database that provides access to scholarly and academic journals, news, dissertations, working papers and more, on a variety of subjects.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary Ebsco database that includes more than 12,000 academic journals--4,500 of these in full-text.
Proquest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers domestic and international newswires and newspapers including the New York Times, The Wall Street Jounal, Boston Globe, & more.

All WMCC Databases

This link will bring you to a list of all the individual databases the WMCC Library subscribes to. Whenever prompted for a sign in, use your Easy Login.